Labor-Management Committees

HOPE members sit on several city of Houston committees. They are the Grievance Committee, Safety Committee, Wellness Committee and Labor Management Cooperation Council. Learn more about each committee below.


The grievance committee reviews and renders decisions in Step III grievance proceedings. The committee is composed of 2 HOPE members, 2 city of Houston designees and 1 citizen member. The citizen member must be a current faculty member of an accredited law school in the city of Houston and serves as the Chair of the Committee. Committee members receive training on relevant city ordinances, policies and practices.

Appointed HOPE Members: Linda Porter and Richard Nordquist
Alternate: Gwen Alexander


HOPE and the city of Houston jointly established the Labor Management Cooperation Council per the terms the second labor agreement. The Labor Management Cooperation Council, or LMCC, is a labor-management advisory body. It is not a decision-making body nor does it set policy, however it can present recommendations for action to the Mayor. The council is tasked with the responsibility to review, discuss and share information concerning issues relevant to labor conditions, contract administration, issues affecting productivity and others. The LMCC Co-chairs are Melvin Hughes, President of HOPE Local 123 and Jane Cheeks, Human Resources Director of the city of Houston. The council is composed of five HOPE members and five city of Houston members including the City Attorney and three Department Directors.

HOPE LMCC Committee members:  Jere Talley, Roy Sanchez, Melvin Hughes, Gail McGruder


The Employee Wellness Advisory Council creates an environment that supports healthy lifestyles. The council sponsors events such as the Mayor’s Wellness Challenge, wellness fairs, health education seminars and quarterly recreation events. Members aim to help employees optimize their health and well-being.

Appointed HOPE Representatives: OPEN


HOPE can appoint two representatives to the Safety Committee. Established to help create a safe and healthful workplace, the Safety Committee includes at least one member from each Department Safety Committee. Members are responsible for reviewing Accident Prevention Plans, promoting departments to reach annual accident reduction goals and others.

Appointed HOPE Representative:  Melvin Parker

Popular Resources

Popular Resources

Click on the image to the right to download a copy of the 2015 Meet and Confer agreement between HOPE and the City of Houston.

Click on the logo for HPD employment opportunities.

Stay Informed

Register for email updates.

  • Please provide an email that does NOT end in
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Questions? Call 832-962-4506.

Office Hours: Mon - Fri (9:00AM - 5:00PM)

Member Quotes

“It’s not about being ready. It’s about being willing. The foundation of this union is the will of its members. ”
President, Melvin Hughes