HOPE Executive Board and Convention Delegate Election

Executive Board and Convention Delegate Mail Ballot Elections:

Due to COVID-19, CDC Guidelines for Social Distancing, and AFSCME International Executive Board Recommendations, Nominations for HOPE Local 123 Executive Board and AFSCME International Convention Delegates were made via email and finalized via a Zoom online meeting on Saturday, July 18th, 2020.

The list of nominees received by email was communicated at the Zoom meeting. Nominations were also accepted at that meeting. At the close of nominations, 5 HOPE Executive Board Candidates were deemed elected by rule as the exact number of candidates was equal to the eligible seats.

We would hereby like to congratulate the following District Representatives:
  • Public Safety/Criminal Justice District:
    • Akita Roach-Battles
    • Donesha Stephens
  • Aviation District:
    • Kenneth Smith
  • Health District:
    • Cynthia Sidney
  • Parks and Recreation District:
    • Olaf Krause

Candidates for Executive Board and Convention Delegate Election:

The Following Candidates have been duly nominated and will appear on the ballot for consideration by HOPE Members in Good Standing to fill the identified seats:

  • President:
    • Roy Sanchez
    • Willie Moore
    • Jason Evans
    • Daniel Box
    • Charlene "Bootsie" Amboree
  • Vice-President:
    • Sonia Rico
    • Cedrick Lasane
  • Treasurer:
    • Dwight Bradley
    • Charles Morris
  • Recording Secretary:
    • Diana Shepherd
    • Sandra Otoya
  • Downtown District:
    • Damon Ross
    • Karen Franklin
  • Public Works District (4 Eligible Seats):
    • Gwen Alexander
    • Stanley Richardson
    • Kenneth Hoskins
    • Abel Mosley
    • Julius Andre Wilson, Sr.
  • Solid Waste District:
    • Ronald Waters
    • David Brown
  • Delegates to the International Virtual Convention (5 Eligible Seats):
    • Roy Sanchez
    • Sonia Rico
    • Dwight Bradley
    • Diane Shepherd
    • Gwen Alexander
    • Sandra Otoya
    • Charles Morris
    • Cedrick Lasane
    • Kenneth Smith


If the exact number or less of candidates required are nominated to the above positions, the nominee(s) will be declared elected and no election will be necessary. If an election is deemed necessary, a secret ballot election will be conducted by mail for all contested positions.

Each member will be mailed a ballot to their last known address that HOPE Local 123 has on file along with detailed instructions on how to complete your ballot.

Important: Ballots will be mailed on Tuesday, July 21st, 2020, and must be received by Monday, August 10th, 2020.

Run-off Elections:

If run-off elections are necessary, ballots will be mailed on Tuesday, August 18th, 2020, and must be received by Tuesday, September 8th, 2020. If necessary, the run-off ballot count will be at the AFL-CIO building, 2506 Sutherland St., Houston, TX 77023 on Wednesday, September 9th, 2020 at noon.

Election Committee Members:

Results Of Elections:

Any member that is interested in observing the ballot count can join the HOPE Election Committee at the Texas Gulf Coast AFL-CIO building, 2506 Sutherland St., Houston, TX 77023 on Tuesday, August 11th, 2020 at 12:00 PM Noon CST.

Each candidate on the ballot may have one official observer. The candidate must
submit the name of the observer by Monday, July 27th, 2020. Observers MUST be Members In Good Standing of HOPE Local 123.